Language Learning Resources

Current awareness for language teachers and students provided by the University of Sussex Language Learning Centre

Benefits of bilingualism

Posted by Tom Roper on September 18, 2007

Being bilingual ‘protects brain’: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/3794479.stm
The research is actually quite old. I’m not sure why it took the BBC so long to find out about it.
Bialystok, Ellen; Craik, Fergus I. M.; Klein, Raymond; Viswanathan, Mythili
Bilingualism, Aging, and Cognitive Control: Evidence From the Simon Task
Psychology and Aging
2004, Vol. 19, No. 2, 290–303
http://content.apa.org/journals/pag/19/2/290.html (requires subscription)

4 Responses to “Benefits of bilingualism”

  1. I found the article on bilingualism interesting and I’m not surprised by the results. The benefits of bilingualism is more than cerebral/biological. For example, if you are bilingual you are more marketable in the workplace with respect to your peers. In a nut shell, bilingualism can only enrich ones life in our global community.

    I have been trying to learn French on and off again but failed to grasp the language until now. Recently, I decided to <a href=”http://learntospeakfrenchonline.blogspot.com/”learn how to speak French online and French seems to be “sticking” and my French is improving(maybe it was my determination not to fail this time). One day I’ll be speaking French fluently and then enjoy the benefits of bilingualism. Who knows maybe I’ll learn Italian next.

  2. I found the article fascinating, but is 104 test subjects really enough to make a definitive conclusion? I’d love to see a more comprehensive (in terms of numbers) followup study!

  3. dzepe1 said

    found the article fascinating, but is 104 test subjects really enough to make a definitive conclusion? I’d love to see a more comprehensive (in terms of numbers) followup study!

  4. Hello there! I simply want to give you a huge
    thumbs up for the great info you’ve got here on this post. I’ll be returning
    to your blog for more soon.

Leave a Reply

 
