Language Learning Resources

Current awareness for language teachers and students provided by the University of Sussex Language Learning Centre

Future of languages: petition

Posted by Tom Roper on January 14, 2008

Following the closure of their MA in Translation and Interpreting, members of the languages department at the University of Bradford have started a petition calling for the government to address the current crisis in language learning in the UK, and make a foreign language compulsory again at GCSE level. Although it is too late for
Bradford, it might help other language departments across the country.
Please find the petition at the following link:
http://petitions.pm.gov.uk/interpreting/

4 Responses to “Future of languages: petition”

  1. Carousing said

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Carousing!!

  2. Svetlana Sharoniva said

    Hello. I’m russian language teacher, MA in Russian language. My professional experience is 20 years. I wrote “The Intensive course for beginners” (on English language base). It is published in Estonia, in Tallinn. I’ve been searching for a job as a Russian language tutor and offer my successful text book. I can work on summer courses, temporary work, give lectures during semester in Russian language, linguistics, literature or language culture.

  3. I’ve been teaching myself languages for years now and I find reading bilingual books to be a great way to learn. There are also lots of different types of flash cards out there. Make sure to try them all and find the ones that work for you. (Check my site for some that I’ve created) It’s important to review vocab ALL the time since it can be hard to actually USE the language with others.

  4. Mike said

    I think it would be great for children to start learning new languages in school, it’s only mandatory for 3 years in my area of the US. The classes aren’t even available until you are about 12 years old.

Leave a Reply

 
